我为可持续发展出份力

改善地方生物多样性:

从鼓励宾客减少织物洗涤频率,提倡在多功能厅及宴会厅使用冷水瓶替代瓶装水,到提供涵盖数千种数字报刊杂志的免费 PressReader阅读器,我的团队一直在努力减少我们对地球自然资源的消耗。我很荣幸地宣布,从今年起,柔佛公主港今旅酒店 Hotel Jen 将回收和重新包装卫生用品,然后捐赠给距离酒店15分钟路程的Kampung Simpang Arang和Gelang Patah的原住民学校和家庭。

另外,我的团队还在日常运营中坚持实践新的回收和环保项目,以减少我们留下的碳足迹。因此,我决定与马来西亚柔佛的非政府组织Feed Our Loved Ones(FOLO)合作,将厨余垃圾转化为肥料,同时通过食物基金会为有需要的人群提供食物。

2016年10月,在酒店行政主厨的带领下,我与柔佛笨珍当地的鱼贩The Fish Club紧密合作,开展了一项名为“从海洋到餐桌”的活动,为大家提供新鲜捕自当地的可持续海鲜。我们建立了一个正规的透明供应链,致力于扶持当地渔民,培养他们的可持续发展观念。

携手当地社区:

通过EMBRACE项目,我的酒店与Orang Asli发展部(JAKOA)合作,改造了附近的一个土著村落。我们希望通过翻新部分家庭和幼儿园的主要建筑,为200多个家庭提供学习用品,消除卫生相关疾病等,为村民提供更好的生活。

另外,我们还是马尔代夫本地一家非营利餐汤厨房Kechara的合作伙伴。每个季度,酒店团队会和该机构成员一起走上街头,为无家可归的人们提供食物、卫浴用品和毯子。

我们相信,通过感恩和回馈社会,我们可以为营造光明、友好的未来出一份力。作为香格里拉集团的一部分,我们是联合国全球契约签约企业及道琼斯和恒生可持续发展指数的坚定执行者。如需了解我们在保护环境和支持当地社区方面的最新进展,请访问酒店的可持续发展博客 或 联系我们

My stance on sustainability 

 

Enhancing local biodiversity: 

At my hotels, I am already encouraging less frequent laundering, using water coolers in function rooms and ballrooms rather than water bottles, and providing free PressReader access to thousands of digital newspapers and magazines. However, my team is constantly looking for new ways to reduce the consumption of our planet's natural resources. That’s why I am proud to announce that starting from this year, Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour Johor will recycle and repackage hygiene amenities, and donate them to the nearby aboriginal schools and families in Kampung Simpang Arang, Gelang Patah, which is located just 15 minutes away.

I also try to steadily implement new recycling and conservation programmes into my business model to reduce our carbon footprint. That is why I decided to work hand in hand with Feed Our Loved Ones (FOLO), a non-governmental organization based in Kempas, Johor, to turn kitchen waste into compost and donate surplus food to those in need.

In October 2016, led by my executive chef, I went to Pontian, Johor, to kick off our Ocean to Table mission, which aims to provide the freshest, sustainable, locally harvested seafood by working closely with a local fishmonger, The Fish Club. A documented and transparent supply chain has been established, and we are committed to supporting the local fishermen and their ability to harvest sustainably.
 

Embracing local communities:
 

Through the EMBRACE initiative, my hotel has partnered with the Orang Asli Development Department (JAKOA) to adopt a nearby indigenous village. We aim to provide the villagers with a better life by refurbishing their homes and the local kindergarten, providing school supplies for more than 200 families, and eradicating hygiene-related illnesses.

We are also partnering with Kechara, a local non-profit soup kitchen. My team members from across the hotel hit the street every three months on a quarterly basis to feed the homeless and give away toiletries and blankets.
 

I believe that by giving back and showing gratitude to the community, we can help to create a brighter future.
Being part of the Shangri-La Group, we are signatories to the UN Global Compact and firm constituents on the Dow Jones and Hang Seng Sustainability Indices. To get the latest on what we are doing to conserve the environment and support our local communities, visit our
 sustanability blog or contact us.